Monsoon [+ other] Airs

The Monsoon [+ other] Airs Assembly is the first of three annual symposia convened by Monsoon Assemblages. This year’s assembly will interrogate questions of monsoon atmospheres, politics and media. The event includes an evening keynote lecture (Thursday 20th April) followed by a one-day long symposium (Friday 21st April). It will be accompanied by an exhibition of graphic, audio and video works.

The keynote lecture will be given by architect Sean Lally of WeathersSymposium speakers include meteorologist Andrew Turner (University of Reading) and philosopher Etienne Turpin (MIT Urban Risk Lab). The exhibition will include work by students of DS18 and Victoria Watson (University of Westminster). See event programme below for further details.

This event is open to anyone interested in monsoonal matters!
Attendance is free, but please book through Eventbrite

Event Programme

Thursday April 20th

18.30 – 20.00 | Key Note by Sean Lally of Weathers: Night White Skies

Friday April 21st

09:30 – 10:00 | Tea + Coffee

10.00 – 11.45 | Panel 1: Air Space | Chair: Anthony Powis
Andrew Turner: The INCOMPASS project and its Field Campaign
Nerea Calvillo: Airscapes in the Making
Victoria Watson: The Earth is Flat and Square – Yves Klein’s Paintings of Thunderclouds

11.45 – 13.00 | Panel 2: Weather Reports | Chair: Rosie Thomas
Anasuya Basu: Kolkata
Rifat Islam Essa: Dhaka
Neha Lalchandani: Delhi

13.00 -14.00 | Lunch

14.00 – 15.15 | Panel 3: Air Movements | Chair: Beth Cullen
Hannah Swee: The Role of Cyclone Forecasting in Responding to Uncertainty
Cleo Roberts: ‘The remarkable rise of the Barometer’: Calcutta and the cyclone of 1864

15.15 – 17.00 | Panel 4: Air Politics Chair: Chella Rajan
Etienne Turpin: The Fog of War Machines
Stine Simonsen Purl: Betting on the Monsoon in a town of semi-arid Rajesthan
Harshavardhan Bhat: Complicit Unkowns

17.00 – 17.15 | Closing remarks | Simon Joss

17.15 – 18.30 | Exhibition + Drinks
Exhibition work by Tom Benson, Nerea Calvillo, Vishal Gowtham, Vinusha Keshav, Koushik Krishna, Aishwarya K, Sean Lally, Keerthana Muralidharan, Cid Schuler, Calvin Sin, Victoria Watson.